Laapata Ladies: Prominent female contenders who lost their ground in LS Elections

2024/06/05 11:23:55 IST

Smriti Irani

    Smriti Irani has suffered a 1,67,196-vote loss against Congress candidate Kishori Lal Sharma. With this miraculous defeat, an era came to an end in Amethi, which under Iranis leadership had temporarily served as a BJP stronghold.

Credit: X

Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti

    Hindu monk and BJP candidate, the Union Minister of State for Food, Public Distribution, and Consumer Affairs was defeated in the Fatehpur. She lost to Samajwadi Partys Naresh Uttam Patel.

Credit: X

Madhavi Lata

    Actress-turned-politician, BJPs political debutante Madhavi Lata has lost from Hyderabad to AIMIMs Asaduddin Owaisi by over 3.38 lakh votes.

Credit: X

Rohini Acharya

    Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) candidate from Saran Lok Sabha constituency Rohini Acharya has tasted defeat by Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP’s) Rajiv Pratap Rudy.

Credit: X

Navneet Rana

    Contesting from Amravati Lok Sabha constituency in eastern Maharashtra, Congresss Balwant Wankhede defeated BJP contender and current MP Navneet Rana by a margin of 19,731 votes. Navneet Rana received 5,06,540 votes, while Balwant Wankhede received 5,26,271 votes.

Credit: X

Banto Kataria

    Wife of late former Union minister Rattan Lal Kataria, Banto Kataria lost from Ambala seat.

Credit: X

Mehbooba Mufti

    Jammu and Kashmirs lone woman nominee, Peoples Democartic Party candidate from Anantnag-Rajouri seat, former CM Mehbooba Mufti has tasted defeat losing to National Conferences Mian Altaf.

Credit: X

Preneet Kaur

    Preneet Kaur, wife of Amarinder Singh contesting elections from Patiala slipped to third position behind Congresss Dharamvira Gandhi and AAPs Punjab minister Balbir. Previously she was expelled from Congress for anti-party activities and had joined BJP this year.

Credit: X

Meneka Gandhi

    Indian politician, environmentalist and animal rights activist, BJP candidate Maneka Gandhi lost the Sultanpur seat to the Samajwadi Partys Rambhual Nishad by a margin of 43,174 votes.

Credit: X

Special Coverage