WORLD CUP: Player of the Tournaments and their performance

2023/11/19 23:42:50 IST

1992 - Martin Crowe (NZ) - 456 runs

    Martin Crowe, the elegant New Zealand batsman, emerged as the shining star of the 1992 Cricket World Cup scoring 456 runs, which earned the coveted Player of the Tournament award.

Credit: ESPN

1996 - Sanath Jayasuriya (SL) - 221 runs and six wickets

    Sanath Jayasuriya, the Sri Lankan all-rounder deservingly claimed the Player of the Tournament title. His explosive batting, exemplified by two centuries, and his crucial bowling contributions, claimed six wickets in the 1996 Cricket World Cup.

Credit: rediff

1999 - Lance Klusener (SA) - 281 runs and 17 wickets

    Lance Klusener, the South African all-rounder, rose to prominence in the 1999 Cricket World Cup, earning the Player of the Tournament award. He contributed with both bat and ball, accumulating 281 runs and capturing 17 wickets.

Credit: rediff

2003 - Sachin Tendulkar (IND) - 673 runs and two wickets

    Sachin Tendulkar, the legendary Indian batsmans remarkable run-scoring feats, include a record-breaking 673 runs, featuring six centuries that earned his well-deserved Player of the Tournament award.

Credit: ESPN

2007 - Glenn McGrath (AUS) - 26 wickets

    Glenn McGrath, the Australian pace bowler, reigned supreme in the 2007 Cricket World Cup, rightfully earning the Player of the Tournament award. His exceptional bowling prowess, captured 26 wickets throughout the tournament.

2011 - Yuvraj Singh (IND) - 362 Runs and 15 wickets

    Yuvraj Singh, the Indian left-handed batsman, emerged as the hero of Indias 2011 Cricket World Cup victory. His all-round brilliance, including 362 runs and 15 wickets, played a pivotal role in Indias historic triumph.

2015 - Mitchell Starc (AUS) - 22 Wickets

    Mitchell Starc, the Australian left-arm fast bowler, unleashed his pace and fury in the 2015 Cricket World Cup. His bowling prowess, capturing 22 wickets, including a five-for against New Zealand, made him a nightmare for opposing batsmen.

Credit: TOI

2019 - Kane Williamson (NZ) - 578 runs and 2 wickets

    Kane Williamson, the New Zealand captain and batsman, led his team with remarkable resilience. His exceptional batting, accumulating 578 runs, including two centuries, and his astute leadership, guiding his team to the final.

Credit: ANI

2023 - Virat Kohli (IND) - 765 runs and 1 wicket

    In the 2023 Cricket World Cup, Virat Kohli, the Indian captain and batsman, continued to showcase his exceptional talent, earning the Player of the Tournament award for his remarkable contributions. He smashed 765 runs, including two centuries and five half-centuries.

Credit: ANI

View More Web Stories