Lok Sabha Elections 2024: High-Stake Leaders in Third Phase of Polling

Amit Shah (Gandhinagar, Gujarat)

    Union Home Minister Amit Shah is contesting from Gandhinagar, Gujarat. BJP has been invincible on this Lok Sabha seat since 1989. Amit Shah has been contesting elections here since 2019. Amit Shah is contesting from Sonal Patel of Congress.

Credit: ANI

Dimple Yadav (Mainpuri, Uttar Pradesh)

    Samajwadi Party leader Dimple Yadav is contesting from Mainpuri in Uttar Pradesh. Mainpuri is considered the stronghold of Samajwadi Party as her father-in-law Mulayam Singh Yadav has won from this seat several times. Dimple had defeated BJPs Raghuraj Singh Shakya in the Mainpuri by-election in December 2022 by a margin of 2,88,461 votes. This time he is facing BJPs Jaiveer Singh Thakur.

Credit: ANI

Supriya Sule (Baramati, Maharashtra)

    Baramati Lok Sabha seat has the stronghold of Pawar family since past, where three-time sitting MP Supriya Sule is contesting from Ajit Pawars wife Sunetra Pawar. After Ajit Pawar joined the BJP-led NDA, he became the Deputy CM of Maharashtra and now his wife is contesting against Supriya Sule from this seat.

Credit: ANI

Digvijay Singh (Rajgarh, Madhya Pradesh)

    Former Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh and veteran Congress leader Digvijay Singh is contesting from Rajgarh Lok Sabha seat. Digvijay Singh is contesting against two-time BJP MP Rodmal Nagar.

Credit: ANI

Shivraj Singh Chauhan (Vidisha, Madhya Pradesh)

    After winning the assembly elections in December last year, BJP had handed over the command of Madhya Pradesh to newcomer Mohan Yadav, after which Shivraj Singh Chauhan, the longest serving Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, has been fielded in the Lok Sabha elections from Vidisha. Chauhan is contesting from Pratap Bhanu Sharma of Congress.

Credit: ANI

Pralhad Joshi (Dharwad, Karnataka)

    Union Minister Prahlad Joshi is contesting again from Dharwad Lok Sabha seat in Karnataka. Joshi has been winning from this seat since 2004. This time he is in the fray against Vinod Asuti of Congress. Joshi has served as the Union Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, Coal and Mines in the Narendra Modi-led NDA II government.

Credit: ANI

Adhir Ranjan Choudhary (Bahrampur, West Bengal)

    Senior Congress leader Adhir Ranjan Chaudhary has been representing the Congress party from Baharampur thrice from 2009 to 2019. In 2019, he defeated Apurba Sarkar of Trinamool Congress (TMC) by more than 80,000 votes. This time he is contesting against BJPs Nirmal Saha and TMCs former Indian cricketer Yusuf Pathan.

Jyotiraditya Scindia (Guna, Madhya Pradesh)

    The Civil Aviation Minister is contesting from Guna Lok Sabha seat of Gwalior-Chambal region. Scindia is a former Congress leader, who joined BJP in 2020. This time Scindia, who is contesting the elections on BJP ticket, is facing Congresss Yadvendra Rao Deshraj Singh.

Seven phases of elections

    Lok Sabha elections 2024 are being conducted in seven phases. The first phase of voting was held on 19 April, while the second phase of voting was held on 26 April. The third phase of voting is taking place today. The results of all seven phases will be declared on June 4.

Credit: X (ECI)

Special Coverage