Lok Sabha election 2024 phase 5: 49 seats, 8 states, big names including Rahul Gandhi in fray

Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 5: So far, elections have been conducted in four phases of the Lok Sabha elections, and the fifth phase of elections is scheduled to take place on May 20.

Top Indian News Desk
Follow us:
Courtesy: X

In the Lok Sabha elections, four phases have concluded so far, with the fifth phase of voting set to take place on May 20. This phase of the Lok Sabha elections will see voting for 49 seats across eight states. It's confirmed that many prominent leaders from various parties, including BJP, Congress, and BSP, are contesting in this phase.

VIP Seats and Notable Candidates

Considered a crucial phase, the May 20 elections feature several VIP leaders such as Rajnath Singh, Piyush Goyal, Anurag Thakur, Kapil Patel, Smriti Irani, Rahul Gandhi, Vikramaditya Singh, Kangana Ranaut, Sadhvi Niranjana Jyoti, Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Rohini Acharya, and Chirag Paswan.

Voting Details

The fifth phase of voting commences at 7 AM and concludes at 6 PM. However, there might be changes in the closing time at some polling stations. A total of 695 candidates are contesting across 49 Lok Sabha seats, along with 265 candidates vying for 35 seats in the Odisha Legislative Assembly in the second phase. Odisha saw voting on May 13 for 28 seats in the first phase out of the total 147 seats.

According to a statement released by the Election Commission on Sunday, a total of 8.95 crore voters will cast their votes across 94,732 polling stations in the 49 Lok Sabha constituencies of eight centrally governed states. These voters will determine the fate of the 695 candidates, comprising 4.69 crore male voters, 4.26 crore female voters, and 5409 transgender voters exercising their voting rights.