Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Vinod Kumar Boianapalli (BRS) looses to Bandi Sanjay Kumar (BJP) in Karimnagar

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Karimnagar, one of the 17 Lok Sabha constituencies in Telangana, boasts a deep-rooted political legacy traced back to its inception in 1952.

Shantanu Poswal
Follow us:

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Bandi Sanjay Kumar of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won in the Telangana's Karimnagar constituency with a margin of 2,25,209 votes defeating Vinod Kumar Boianapalli of the Bharat Rashtra Samithi.

Karimnagar, one of the 17 Lok Sabha constituencies in Telangana, boasts a deep-rooted political legacy traced back to its inception in 1952. Historically aligned with the Congress, the constituency has witnessed a diverse political terrain, marked by victories clinched by parties like the Telangana Praja Samithi, Bharatiya Janata Party, and Telugu Desam Party over various electoral cycles. The emergence of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) heralded a significant transformation in Karimnagar's political landscape, notably with the ascension of TRS founder Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao, who secured the seat three times amidst the Telangana movement.

What are the issues?

Karimnagar Lok Sabha constituency grapples with several key issues that influence its political dynamics. One of the prominent concerns is agricultural distress, affecting farmers due to factors like erratic rainfall, lack of irrigation facilities, and mounting debt burdens. Unemployment and underemployment also loom large, particularly among the youth, leading to socio-economic challenges. Infrastructure development, including road connectivity and access to basic amenities like healthcare and education, remains a pressing issue in many parts of the constituency. Additionally, issues related to water scarcity and pollution, especially in urban areas, demand urgent attention for sustainable development. Addressing these concerns effectively is crucial for ensuring the overall progress and well-being of the constituents in the Karimnagar Lok Sabha constituency.

Caste Equation

In Karimnagar district, the population distribution based on religion reveals a predominance of Hinduism, with a total of 3,491,139 individuals, constituting approximately 92.45% of the population. Muslims form a significant minority, with a total population of 244,723, accounting for around 6.48% of the district's populace. Christians comprise a smaller proportion, with 24,979 individuals, making up approximately 0.66% of the population. Other religious communities, including Sikhs, Buddhists, and Jains, constitute negligible percentages of the district's population, each comprising less than 1% of the total population.

Who won in 2019?

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections for the Karimnagar constituency, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) emerged victorious, securing a total of 4,98,276 votes, which accounted for approximately 43.4% of the votes polled. The BJP candidate, Bandi Sanjay Kumar, secured this victory. The runner-up in the election was the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) party, which garnered a total of 4,08,768 votes, representing around 35.6% of the votes. Boianapalli Vinod Kumar represented the TRS party in this election.