Rajnath Singh proposes Narendra Modi as NDA leader for third consecutive term; Nitish Kumar extends support

BJP MP Rajnath Singh nominates Narendra Modi for the positions of Leader of the BJP Parliamentary Party, Leader of the NDA Parliamentary Party, and Leader of the Lok Sabha.

Top Indian News Desk
Follow us:
Courtesy: X/BJP

Days after the announcement of the Lok Sabha election results, the newly elected members reached the Parliament of India to elect Narendra Modi as the NDA leader for the third consecutive term. 

BJP MP Rajnath Singh while speaking at the meeting proposed the name of Narendra Modi as the party leader (Prime Minister) for the third term.

Other BJP leaders Amit Shah, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Bihar CM Nitish Kumar, Maharashtra CM Eknath Shinde, Madhya Pradesh CM Mohan Yadav and other NDA leaders gathered at Samvidhan Sadan for the announcement.
National Party President, JP Nadda also congratulated Modi for his tireless efforts, hard work and dedication.

BJP national president JP Nadda, speaking at the NDA meeting in New Delhi, said, “NDA secured a majority in the Lok Sabha Elections, and we also established our government in Odisha. I'm pleased to announce that the NDA government was also established in Andhra Pradesh. Additionally, in Arunachal Pradesh, we formed our government for the third time. NDA also secured its government in Sikkim... We recall that a decade ago, India was perceived differently; it was believed that nothing would change here. Today, ten years later, under PM Modi's leadership, the same India has transformed into an aspiring nation, determined to achieve the status of a developed country.”

Meanwhile, at the NDA Parliamentary Party meeting, Bihar CM- JD(U) chief Nitish Kumar supports the proposal of naming Narendra Modi as the leader of Lok Sabha, Leader of the BJP and NDA Parliamentary Party.

Meanwhile, Narendra Modi is likely to take oath as Prime Minister for the third consecutive term. 

The Election Commission of India declared the results on Tuesday. The BJP and its allies now hold 293 seats after winning 240 seats. The NDA has received backing from the TDP of Chandrababu Naidu and the JDU of Nitish Kumar, who won 16 and 12 seats in their respective states, respectively.