ICC announce T20I Teams of the Year; 4 Team India stars make the cut

Star batters Suryakumar Yadav and Chamari Athapaththu were declared as the captains of their sides.

Follow us:
Courtesy: ANI

The International Cricket Council (ICC) revealed their T20I team of 2023 for men's and women's cricket. In the men's team, India's Suryakumar Yadav, the undisputed maestro of big hitting has been named as skipper of the side after another year of topping the batting charts. The young batting sensation of India, Yashasvi Jaiswal also impressed with his fearless batting, while Ravi Bishnoi and Arshdeep Singh, who scalped plenty of wickets in a crucial situation, also feature in the 'Team of Year 2023.'

Meanwhile, West Indies' star batter, Nicholas Pooran, and New Zealand's Mark Chapman were the other members, who featured in the list. While Phil Salt's two T20I centuries solidified England's presence in the iconic list. Zimbabwe's veteran allrounder Sikandar Raza, joins the party with his spin and power-hitting hitting proving potent weapons.

However, the breakout star of the year is Uganda's Alpesh Ramjani as he emerged as the leading wicket-taker in the format. He scalped 55 wickets and also hammered 449 runs on tricky surfaces. Mark Adair and Richard Ngarava also secured their place on the iconic list.

ICC Men's T20I Team of the Year 2023 

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Phil Salt, Nicholas Pooran (WK), Suryakumar Yadav(C), Sikandar Raza, Mark Chapman, Alpesh Ramjani, Mark Adair, Ravi Bishnoi, Richard Ngarava, Arshdeep Singh.

In the women's team, Sri Lanka's Chamari Athapaththu leads the way for the women's team of the year with her series-winning heroics in England. Meanwhile, the spotlight shines on Hayley Mathews. The West Indian star batter has scored a mountain of runs and economical spin bowling makes her a true all-round force.

Australia dominates the list

Australian dominance comes in the form of four players, including Beth Mooney, the rock of their top order. While Ellyse Perry and Ashleigh Gardner made invaluable contributions with bat and ball. But it's Megan Schutt, the relentless wicket-taker at crucial junctures, who truly stands out among her countrymen.

England's Nat Sciver-Brunt and New Zealand's Amelia Kerr showcase their all-round skills, while South Africa's Laura Wolvaardt provides consistent runs at the top. England's Sophie Ecclestone, the year's most penetrative bowler, joins India's Deepti Sharma, whose economical off-spin earned her a well-deserved spot.

ICC Women's T20I Team of the Year 2023

Chamari Athapaththu (C), Laura Wolvaardt, Beth Mooney (WK), Hayley Matthews, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Amelia Kerr, Ellyse Perry, Ashleigh Gardner, Deepti Sharma, Sophie Ecclestone, Megan Schutt.