Modi 3.0: Breakdown of ministerial positions for BJP allies

HD Kumaraswamy, the Janata Dal leader and former Chief Minister of Karnataka, was the first among BJP's allies to take the oath of office and secrecy.

Top Indian News Desk
Follow us:

Allies of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) joined the Union government during the swearing-in ceremony held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan on Sunday, June 9. HD Kumaraswamy, the Janata Dal (Secular) leader and former Karnataka chief minister, was the first among the BJP's partners to take the oath of office and secrecy.

Key Leaders Take Oath After Modi

Following Prime Minister Narendra Modi and senior BJP leaders such as Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari, and JP Nadda, HD Kumaraswamy took the oath of office. He was soon followed by other key allies.

Former Chief Ministers Sworn In

The second leader from the BJP's allies to take the oath was Jitan Ram Manjhi, the Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) leader and former Bihar Chief Minister. Manjhi joined the Union council of ministers, representing his party in the Lok Sabha, where JD(S) won only two seats in the 2024 elections.

Additional Allies Join Cabinet

Rajiv Ranjan Singh, also known as Lalan Singh of JD(U), and Ram Mohan Naidu Kinjarapu of the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), took their oaths following Kumaraswamy and Manjhi. Both TDP and JD(U) are crucial allies of the BJP, with TDP holding 16 MPs and JD(U) holding 12 MPs in the Lok Sabha.

Other Notable Oath-Takers

Other prominent leaders from BJP allies who took the oath included Chirag Paswan of the Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas) and Jayant Chaudhary of the Rashtriya Lok Dal. The swearing-in ceremony marked the continuation of the BJP-led NDA's governance, as they secured their third consecutive term in the Lok Sabha with 293 seats, including 240 seats won by BJP itself.