BCCI drops Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan from central contract; Here's why

Both players have repeatedly ignored the BCCI and selector's advice to play matches in domestic circuit.

Follow us:
Courtesy: ANI

The Board of Cricket Control in India, on Wednesday, released the name of players, who are part of central contract. Surprisingly, Shreyas Iyer and Ishan Kishan have been dropped from the BCCI's central contract for 2023-24. Both players have repeatedly ignored the BCCI and selector's advice to play matches in the domestic circuit. However, both players ignored the calls and opted to stay out of Ranji Trophy matches. 

Why have Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan excluded from BCCI central contracts?

Ishan Kishan opted to play DY Patil T20 Cup, instead of joining Jharkhand's Ranji team. Although, Shreyas Iyer has returned to Mumbai's squad ahead of the Ranji semifinals but after the axe fell on him. 

In the media release, BCCI stated, "Please note that Shreyas Iyer and Ishan Kishan were not considered for the annual contracts in this round of recommendations."

Furthermore, it added, " The BCCI has recommended that all athletes give precedence to participating in domestic cricket during periods when they are not representing the national team." 

Clearly, the team management and BCCI's selection committee are not happy with the attitude of these two-star players towards Ranji matches.  

BCCI upgrades KL Rahul, Shubhman Gill, and Mohammed Siraj's contract

Meanwhile, KL Rahul, Shubhman Gill, and Mohammed Siraj have been upgraded to the Grade A category while the star batter, Rishabh Pant is in Grade B, who is on road to recovery from a road accident. 

BCCI's contracts for 2023-24

  • Grade A+ - Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja.
  • Grade A - R Ashwin, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, KL Rahul, Shubman Gill and Hardik Pandya.
  • Grade B - Surya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel and Yashasvi Jaiswal.
  • Grade C - Rinku Singh, Tilak Verma, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Shardul Thakur, Shivam Dube, Ravi Bishnoi, Jitesh Sharma, Washington Sundar, Mukesh Kumar, Sanju Samson, Arshdeep Singh, KS Bharat, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan and Rajat Patidar.

Moreover, the selection committee of BCCI has extended fat bowling contracts for Akash Deep, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Umran Malik, Yash Dayal, and Vidwath Kaverappa.

BCCI introduces new rule for upgradation in central contracts

On the other hand, the BCCI selection committee has revealed criteria for players, who will be automatically included in Grade C. According to BCCI's media release, the players who will be playing 3 Tests or 8 ODIs or 10 T20Is will be included in Grade C on a pro-rata basis.