Who are the six Indian players inducted in ICC's World Cup 2023 team?

Indian skipper Rohit Sharma was named as the captain of the World Cup XI.

Follow us:
Courtesy: ANI

After some phenomenal individual performances across seven weeks in Cricket World Cup 2023, the ICC announced 'Team of the Tournament' on Monday. 

In a media release, the top cricket governing body announced the names, which include six Indian players. Indian skipper Rohit Sharma was named as the captain of the World Cup XI. Apart from the skipper, India's star batters Virat Kohli and Kl Rahul also featured in the squad with their impeccable performances with the bat in the tournament. Other Indians who featured in the team of the tournament are allrounder Ravindra Jadeja and the pacer duo of Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami.

Domination of Indians

'Men in Blue' performed exceptionally well throughout the tournament and remained unbeaten until the final. India skipper Rohit Sharma had a terrific World Cup with the bat, scoring 597 runs with a strike rate of 125.95. Earlier, Indian stalwart batter Virat Kohli was declared the 'Man of the Tournament'. The star batter was the higest run getter in the tournamnet by hammering 765 runs in 11 matches, avweraing 95.62 per match.  

Finalists dominate in World Cup XI

Despite winning the World Cup 2023 only two players from the Australian team secured their spot in the team of the tournament. While one player each from the semi-finalists South Africa and New Zealand made it into World Cup XI. Sri Lanka's Dilshan Madushanka was the only player who secured the spot with his performance in the group stage. 

The selection panel of Shane Watson (Commentators), Wasim Khan (ICC General Manager, Cricket) and Sunil Vaidya (Journalist, Ahmedabad Mirror), Kass Naidoo, Ian Bishop.

Here's the full list of 'Team of the Tournament' (According to batting order): 

  1. Quinton de Kock (wk) (South Africa) – 594 runs at 59.40 
  2. Rohit Sharma (c) (India) – 597 runs at 54.27 
  3. Virat Kohli (India) – 765 runs at 95.62 
  4. Daryl Mitchell (New Zealand) – 552 runs at 69 
  5. KL Rahul (India) – 452 runs at 75.33
  6. Glenn Maxwell (Australia) – 400 runs at 66.66 and six wickets at 55
  7. Ravindra Jadeja (India) – 120 runs at 40 and 16 wickets at 24.87 
  8. Jasprit Bumrah (India) – 20 wickets at 18.65
  9. Dilshan Madushanka (Sri Lanka) – 21 wickets at 25 
  10. Adam Zampa (Australia) – 23 wickets at 22.39 
  11. Mohammed Shami (India) – 24 wickets at 10.70
  12. 12th player: Gerald Coetzee (South Africa) – 20 wickets at 19.80