IND vs ENG: Virat Kohli to miss next three Tests, Shreyas Iyer dropped; Check full squad here

IND vs ENG: The availability of Ravindra Jadeja and KL Rahul will be subject to clearance from the medical team.

Follow us:
Courtesy: ANI

IND vs ENG: India announced the squad on Saturday, for the upcoming three Test matches against England. KL Rahul and Ravindra Jadeja have been included in India's squad. The duo is making a return after recovering from the quadriceps and hamstring injuries respectively that compelled them out of the Visakhapatnam's Test. However, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has highlighted that their participation will be subject to clearance from the medical team. 

The pair is expected to bring stability to the middle-order batting. Earlier, the Indian middle order failed against the inexperienced bowling attack of England. Surprisingly, Virat Kohli's name was not on the list.

As per the media release of BCCI, "Virat Kohli will remain unavailable for selection for the remainder of the series due to personal reasons. The Board fully respects and supports Mr. Kohli’s decision."

Key inclusion in the contingent

Meanwhile, the ace speedster, Mohammed Shami was also among the major missings of the squad. The 33-year-old sustained an ankle injury after the recently concluded ICC Cricket World Cup. On the other hand, Shreyas Iyer has been ruled out of the remainder of the series after back stiffness, which he complained about during the second Test. The selection committee has no options left, forcing the inclusion of Rajat Patidar and Sarfaraz Khan. Notably, the veteran batter Cheteshwar Pujara's name was ignored, again.  

In the bowling department, Mohammed Siraj is making his comeback. The medium pacer Mukesh Kumar replaced him in the Visakhapatnam Test. Meanwhile, Avesh Khan has been released and BCCI has named West Bengal's experienced bowler, Akash Deep as a replacement. After Jadeja's return, Utter Pradesh's captain Saurabh Kumar has been released. 

India squad for the final three Tests: Rohit Sharma (C), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul, Sarfaraz Khan, Rajat Patidar, Ravindra Jadeja, KS Bharat (WK), Dhruv Jurel (WK), Axar Patel, R Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Mohammed Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Akash Deep.