Chhattisgarh: Vishnu Deo Sai set to become new Chief Minister in key Legislative Party decision

Chhattisgarh new CM: Vishnu Deo Sai's designation as the new Chief Minister was finalised during a legislative party meeting in Raipur.

Follow us:
Courtesy: ANI

Chhattisgarh new CM: The suspense surrounding the next Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh has concluded with the announcement of Vishnu Deo Sai's appointment during a legislative party meeting in Raipur. The decision was reached after deliberations with MLAs and the presence of three party observers.

Vishnu Deo Sai's designation as the new Chief Minister was finalised during a legislative party meeting in Raipur. The BJP leadership, in response to the assembly election results on December 3, entrusted him with this responsibility. The decision received the nod from MLAs, and three party-appointed observers attended the meeting in Raipur.

Observers and Decision-Making Process

Before electing the new CM, the legislative party convened in Raipur, with Union Minister Arjun Munda, Sarbananda Sonowal, and Party General Secretary Dushyant Kumar Gautam serving as observers. The meeting also included Party's Chhattisgarh in-charge Om Mathur, Union Minister Mansukh Mandaviya, and party's co-in-charge for the state Nitin Naveen. Vishnu Deo Sai emerged as the chosen leader during this process.

Speculations and Sai's Candidacy

Amid speculations about the next Chhattisgarh CM, it was anticipated that the BJP might choose an OBC or tribal leader if not opting for the thrice-serving CM Raman Singh. In line with this, Vishnu Deo Sai, a prominent tribal leader within the BJP, secured approval. As a former Union Minister hailing from the tribal community, Sai was a frontrunner for the CM post.

Chhattisgarh Assembly Election 2023

In a surprising turn of events, the BJP secured an unexpected victory in the Chhattisgarh Assembly elections 2023. Out of the 90 assembly seats, the BJP claimed 54 seats, while the Congress secured only 35 seats. Additionally, the Gondwana Gantantra Party (GGP) won one seat.

Chief Ministers of Chhattisgarh and Their Tenure

  • Ajit Jogi (2000 to 2003)
  • Dr. Raman Singh (2003 to 2008)
  • Dr. Raman Singh (2008 to 2013)
  • Dr. Raman Singh (2013 to 2018)
  • Bhupesh Baghel (2018 to 2023)

The appointment of Vishnu Deo Sai marks a significant development in Chhattisgarh's political landscape, paving the way for a new leadership era in the state.