Chhattisgarh: Ex-CM Raman Singh to become Assembly speaker; Arun Sao, Vijay Sharma named deputy CMs

The name of new CM and deouty CMs were announced in a meeting of BJP’s newly-elected 54 MLAs in Raipur.

Follow us:
Courtesy: ANI

After days of suspense over new CM, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) announced Arun Sao and Vijay Sharma as Deputy Chief Ministers for Chhattisgarh on Sunday evening. While former chief minister Raman Singh became the Assembly Speaker.

Earlier in the day, the BJP named Vishnu Deo Sai as the new Chief Minister of the state. The decision was taken in a meeting of BJP’s newly-elected 54 MLAs, which was held in Raipur.

Following the announcement, the BJP MLAs, led by Vishnu Deo Sai, handed a letter to the Governor at the Raj Bhavan in Raipur. The formalities to form a new government are underway. 

The BJP's senior leader Brijmohan Agrawal confirmed the development and said, "We have handed over a letter to the Governor stating that Sai ji has been elected as the legislative party leader."

Chhattisgarh's newly elected Chief Minster Vishnu Deo Sai expressed his gratitude towards Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah, and party Chief JP Nadda on Sunday.

What is 'Modi Ki Guarantee'?

Vishnu Deo Sai also promised to fulfil the promises, which were made to citizens of the state under the ‘Modi Ki Guarantee’. He emphasised that his government’s first work would be to provide shelter to 18 lakh beneficiaries of a housing scheme.

The ANI reports quoted Chhattisgarh's statement, "I will work for 'Sabka Vishwas' & the promises made to the people of Chhattisgarh under 'Modi Ki Guarantee' will be fulfilled. As a CM of the state, we will try to fulfil the promises."

The 59-year-old also asserted that a bonus for two years will be provided to the farmers on the birth anniversary of former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee on December 25. 

He said, "As a CM my priority will be to fulfil the promises made to the people. Every section of society was suffering during the five years of Congress rule. Around 18 lakh people have been deprived of Pradhan Mantri Awas. On December 25 the birth anniversary of Atal Bihari Vajpayee, a bonus for two years will be given to the farmers." 

What is verdict of Chhattisgarh Assembly Polls?

Vishnu Deo Sai secured a thumping victory in the Chhattisgarh assembly elections by a substantial margin of over 25,000 votes. He won on Kunkuri Tribal and became the first tribal chief minister of Chhattisgarh.

The 59-year-old served the BJP as the state president from 2020 to 2022. He was the Union Minister of State for Steel during Prime Minister Narendra Modi's initial term. Moreover, he represented Raipur constituency for the BJP as a Lok Sabha member.