AFSPA to continue in Nagaland? These DISTRICTS on radar

The centre declared 21 police stations, 5 districts for a period of six months with effect from April 1.

Follow us:
Courtesy: X/ANI

The Central Government on Wednesday has decided to extend AFSPA (Armed Forces Special Powers Act) in 8 districts and police stations of 5 districts of Nagaland declaring them as 'disturbed areas' for a period of six months with effect from April 1. 

Which 5 districts, 21 police stations are covered under this act? 

This decision has been taken after reviewing the law and order situation in the states. According to the notification issued by the Home Ministry, it has been decided to keep AFSPA in force in Dimapur, Newland, Chumaukedima, Mon, Kiphire, Noklak, Phek and Peren districts of Nagaland. Besides, AFSPA will continue in the areas falling within these districts also.

These 21 police stations include Khuzama, Kohima North, Kohima South, Zubza and Kezocha police stations in Kohima district; Mangkolemba, Mokokchung-I, Longtho, Tuli, Longkem and Anaki 'C' police stations in Mokokchung district; Yanglok Police Station in Longleng District; Wokha district includes Bhandari, Champang and Ralan police stations and Zunheboto district includes Ghatashi, Pughoboto, Satakha, Suruhuto, Zunheboto and Aghunato police stations.

What is AFSPA? 

Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958 is an act of the Parliament of India that grants special powers to the Indian Armed Forces to maintain public order in "disturbed areas". According to the Disturbed Areas Act, 1976 once declared 'disturbed', the area has to maintain status quo for a minimum of 3 months. 

Why Centre took this step? 

The Center took this step after further review of the law and order situation in the state of Nagaland. AFSPA empowers security forces to arrest a person without a warrant, enter or search premises without a warrant, as well as take certain other actions.