Farmers’ Protest: Opposition criticizes Modi Government's handling

While Mamta Banerjee termed Modi’s response as ‘brutal assault’, Akhilesh Yadav questioned the touted ‘Amritkaal’ under BJP government.

Follow us:
Courtesy: Indian Express

The opposition leaders have strongly criticized the government's handling of the farmers' protest as tear gas shells were fired at protesting farmers marching towards New Delhi, echoing scenes from the 2021 protests. The Haryana Police deployed tear gas to disperse farmers attempting to break barricades at the Shambhu border near Ambala.

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee condemned the "brutal assault" on farmers and accused the BJP-led central government of failing to support them, exposing the hollowness of the "Viksit Bharat" (Developed India) narrative. She urged the BJP to prioritize farmers' welfare over political ambitions and asserted solidarity with the protesting farmers.

Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav denounced the use of tear gas against farmers and questioned the government's touted "Amritkaal" (Era of Elixir) under BJP rule. Yadav criticized the government for suppressing farmers' voices and failing to fulfill promises of doubling farmers' income and implementing minimum support prices (MSP).

Jairam Ramesh, Congress general secretary in-charge communications, criticized the government's decision to confer Bharat Ratna on agricultural scientist MS Swaminathan and former Prime Minister Chaudhary Charan Singh while neglecting farmers' demands. He emphasized the importance of implementing the Swaminathan formula and ensuring fair minimum support prices for crops, highlighting the farmers' demands.

The tightened security in the national capital reflects escalating tensions as farm unions from Punjab and Haryana march towards Delhi after unsuccessful talks with ministers regarding minimum crop prices. These protests, ongoing for over two years, underscore the significant influence of farmers as a voting bloc, particularly in the upcoming national elections where Prime Minister Narendra Modi seeks re-election for a third term.