Modi 3.0 Cabinet: Seven Women Ministers Take Oath | Full List Inside

The PM Modi 3.0 council of ministers showcases a diverse representation from across the country and various social groups. The council includes 27 ministers from Other Backward Classes, 10 from Scheduled Castes, 5 from Scheduled Tribes, and 5 from minority communities.

Top Indian News Desk
Follow us:

Seven women, including prominent figures such as Nirmala Sitharaman, Annapurna Devi, and Anupriya Singh Patel, were sworn in as ministers in Prime Minister Narendra Modi's new cabinet at the Rashtrapati Bhavan on Sunday, June 9. This swearing-in marks the start of Modi's third consecutive term as Prime Minister, a feat only previously achieved by Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru.

Historic Third Term for Modi

Narendra Modi took the oath of office at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi, becoming the second person in India's history to serve three consecutive terms as Prime Minister. The first was Jawaharlal Nehru, who led India through the 1952, 1957, and 1962 general elections.

List of Women in Modi's Cabinet

1. Nirmala Sitharaman: A record-setting appointment, Nirmala Sitharaman was sworn in for her third consecutive term. Known for her role in advancing second-generation reforms, she joined the ranks of Arun Jaitley and Manmohan Singh by serving a full term as Finance Minister. Sitharaman, a fiery spokesperson for the BJP, first entered the Cabinet in 2014 under Modi's leadership.

2. Annapurna Devi: Annapurna Devi's political journey is marked by personal tragedy and resilience. After the sudden death of her husband, Ramesh Yadav, in 1998, Devi transitioned from homemaker to politician. Her first ministerial position in 2021 was seen as a strategic move to solidify the OBC vote bank in Jharkhand, where her influence extends beyond the mica-rich Koderma region.

3. Anupriya Singh Patel: As the president of the Apna Dal (Soneylal) party since 2016, Patel has held multiple significant roles, including Minister of State for Commerce and Industry and Minister of State in the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare. Representing Mirzapur in the Lok Sabha since 2014, Patel's political career has been closely allied with the BJP.

4. Shobha Karandlaje: An outspoken politician with an RSS background, Karandlaje has been a staunch critic of religious extremism. A close ally of Karnataka BJP leader B S Yediyurappa, she has been a member of the Lok Sabha three times and served as Union Minister of State for Agriculture and Farmers’ Welfare in Modi's previous government.

5. Raksha Khadse: Raksha Khadse, a three-term Lok Sabha member from Raver in Maharashtra, entered politics after her husband Nikhil's tragic suicide in 2013. Starting as a sarpanch in 2010, she won the Raver Lok Sabha seat in 2014, avenging her husband's defeat in the Maharashtra Legislative Council election.

6. Savitri Thakur: Thakur, a prominent tribal leader from Madhya Pradesh, was sworn in as a minister of state after winning the Dhar (ST) seat in the 2024 general elections. Her political career began in 2003, and she has since held various party positions at the state and national levels.

7. Nimuben Bambhaniya: A former teacher and two-term mayor of Bhavnagar, Bambhaniya won the Bhavnagar Lok Sabha seat in Gujarat, defeating AAP's Umesh Makwana by a significant margin. Joining the BJP in 2004, she has a strong political presence within the OBC Koli community and has held several key positions within the BJP Mahila Morcha.

These appointments underscore Modi's commitment to including women in significant government roles and reflect their growing influence in Indian politics.