From fastest fifties to biggest partnerships in IPL: Full list of records broken by SRH against MI

IPL 2024: SRH rewrote the record books by posting an astronomical total of 277/3, marking the highest-ever score in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Follow us:
Courtesy: X

IPL 2024:  In a scintillating showdown against Mumbai Indians (MI), Sunrisers Hyderabad's (SRH) batting trio of Heinrich Klaasen, Abhishek Sharma, and Travis Head left spectators awe-struck with a relentless display of power-hitting at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad.

Highest-ever total in IPL

SRH rewrote the record books by posting an astronomical total of 277/3, marking the highest-ever score in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL). The MI bowlers faced an uphill battle against the ferocious onslaught unleashed by the SRH batters.

  • 277/3 - SRH vs MI, Hyderabad, 2024
  • 263/5 - RCB vs PWI, Bengaluru, 2013
  • 257/5 - LSG vs PBKS, Mohali, 2023
  • 248/3 - RCB vs GL, Bengaluru, 2016
  • 246/5 - CSK vs RR, Chennai, 2010

Fastest fifty for SRH

Travis Head announced his return to the IPL arena with a blistering knock of 62 runs off just 24 balls, setting the stage on fire. His innings included a record-breaking fastest fifty by an SRH player, achieved in a mere 18 balls.

  • 16 balls - Abhishek Sharma vs MI, Hyderabad in IPL 2024
  • 18 balls - Travis Head vs MI, Hyderabad in IPL 2024
  • 20 balls - David Warner vs CSK, Hyderabad in IPL 2015

Abhishek Sharma's fiery blitz

Abhishek Sharma joined the onslaught, matching Head's intensity with a scorching innings of 63 runs off 23 deliveries. His display of power-hitting, punctuated by seven towering sixes, left the MI bowlers reeling.

Heinrich Klaasen's carnage

Heinrich Klaasen stepped up to the plate and unleashed a devastating assault on the MI bowlers, smashing an unbeaten 80 off just 34 balls. His innings, embellished with seven monstrous sixes, propelled SRH to their record-breaking total.

Highest partnership for 4th wicket for SRH in the IPL

Klaasen's partnership with Aiden Markram yielded a formidable 116-run stand for the fourth wicket, further solidifying SRH's dominance in the match.

  • 116* - Heinrich Klaasen and Aiden Markram vs MI, Hyderabad, 2024
  • 93* - MC Henriques and Yuvraj Singh vs DC, Delhi, 2017
  • 80 - Cameron White and Thisara Perera vs RCB, Bengaluru, 2013
  • 79 - Kane Williamson and Yusuf Pathan vs CSK, Hyderabad, 2018
  • 77 - Abhishek Sharma and Priyam Garg vs CSK, Dubai, 2020

Most sixes in team innings in the IPL

SRH's batting frenzy saw a total of 18 sixes, marking the third joint-most in IPL history. The match witnessed a staggering total of 34 sixes, setting a new record for the most sixes in an IPL match.

  • 21 - RCB vs PWI, Bengaluru, 2013
  • 20 - RCB vs GL, Bengaluru, 2016
  • 20 - DC vs GL, Delhi, 2017
  • 18 - RCB vs PBKS, Bengaluru, 2015
  • 18 - RR vs PBKS, Sharjah, 2020

With this monumental performance, SRH not only redefined IPL records but also etched their name in men's T20 cricket, securing the fourth-highest innings score ever.

Thumping victory against MI

In pursuit of the mammoth target of 278 runs, Mumbai Indians were restricted to 246/5 in 20 overs and secured 31 runs victory. Although, Tilak Varma led by the five-time champion, didn't give up easily. But the efforts from MI batters helped just to decrease the deficit of net run rate.