ICC awards: SKY named ICC T20I Player of the Year; Check full list here

ICC awards: The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the winners of prestigious ICC awards on Wednesday.

Follow us:
Courtesy: ANI

ICC awards: The 360-degree batter of India, Suryakumar Yadav has become the world's premier T20I batsman by clinching the coveted ICC Men's T20I Cricketer of the Year award for the second consecutive year. Overcoming stiff competition from Sikandar Raza, Alpesh Ramjani, and Mark Chapman, Yadav secured the award. SKY has hammered 733 runs at an average of nearing 50 with a strike rate of 155.95 in 2023.

Yadav's consistency was remarkable. After a minor blip with a lone-figure score in his opening innings, he roared back with scores of 51 and 112* against Sri Lanka, setting the tone for a phenomenal year. He continued to hammer consistent scores in the 20s and 40s before displaying his class with an 83 against the West Indies in the previous year.

ICC Men’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year

New Zealand youngster sensation Rachin Ravindra has won the ICC Men’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year for 2023.

The 24-year-old beat South Africa speedster Gerald Coetzee, Sri Lanka pacer Dilshan Madushanka, and India batter Yashasvi Jaiswal for the prestigious award on the back of an amazing ICC Men's Cricket World Cup campaign in India where he hammered 578 runs. Rachin Ravindra in 2023, scored 820 ODI runs at an average of 41. It came at a healthy strike rate of 108.03. He also scalped 18 wickets at 46.61, with an economy of 6.02. 

ICC Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year

Hayley Matthews became just the second player from the West Indies to win the coveted ICC Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year award. West Indies' former skipper Stafanie Taylor was the previous cricketer to have won this award, back in 2015.

Matthews played some sensational knocks with the bat in 2023. She hammered 700 runs and scalped 19 wickets in 14 matches. 

ICC Men's Associate Cricketer of the Year

The Netherlands' bowling all-rounder, Bas de Leede, bagged the ICC Men's Associate Cricketer of the Year award after his stellar performances at the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023 Qualifier and the main event in India. Following in the footsteps of Ryan ten Doeschate, de Leede scalped 16 wickets, including a four-wicket haul against Pakistan. He also scored 139 valuable runs, including a half-century which solidified his claim to the accolade.

"It's a cool way to finish off a great year for The Netherlands," de Leede remarked, acknowledging the collective effort behind his achievement.

ICC Women's Associate Cricketer of the Year

On the women's side, Kenya's Queentor Abel emerged victorious in the ICC Women's Associate Cricketer of the Year category, joining Thomas Odoyo as the country's second representative to win the prestigious award. Abel's had an impressive year, with 30 T20I wickets at a fantastic economy rate of 3.81 and 476 T20I runs at a healthy average of 34.00, which was a testament to her all-round brilliance.

Abel's consistency was evident throughout the year. She was instrumental in Kenya's triumph at the Women's T20 World Cup Africa Regional Division Two Qualifier, claiming the Player of the Tournament award with 238 runs and 12 wickets. Her impressive form continued in the Division One tournament, where she added six more wickets to her tally while contributing valuable runs with the bat.

Her dominance extended beyond regional tournaments. Abel topped the run-scorer charts at the Kwibuka Tournament in Rwanda, amassing 206 runs and claiming 11 wickets at an economical rate of 4.40, earning her yet another Player of the Tournament distinction.