ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2024: From format, schedule to venues all; you need to know

ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2024: ICC introduced a brand-new format for the highly anticipated event

Satyam Singh
Follow us:
Courtesy: ICC

ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2024: The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday released the details of the upcoming Under-19 Cricket World Cup which is set to be held in South Africa. The tournament will kick off on January 19 and a total of 48 electrifying matches will be played across five venues in the group stages.

Sixteen teams are divided into four groups with Group A featuring the defending champions, India, alongside Bangladesh, Ireland, and the USA. England heads Group B, alongside Scotland, South Africa (hosts), and the West Indies. Group C features Australia, Namibia, Sri Lanka, and Zimbabwe, while Group D includes Afghanistan, Nepal, New Zealand, and Pakistan clashing for supremacy.

  • Group A - Bangladesh, India, Ireland, USA
  • Group B - England, Scotland, South Africa, West Indies
  • Group C - Australia, Namibia, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe
  • Group D - Afghanistan, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan

ICC inducts new format

ICC introduced a brand-new format for the highly anticipated event. After the initial group stage, the top three teams from each group will advance to the thrilling Super Six phase, which will start on January 30. 

Teams won't face their group counterparts in the Super Six, adding an extra layer of strategic intrigue. And for those who fall short, placement matches will determine final rankings. In the Super Six phase, the top three teams from Groups A and D put together with the top three of Groups B and D. South Africa is hosting the Under-19 World Cup for the third time.

Full schedule 

Group A and B kick off on January 19 with Ireland vs USA and South Africa vs West Indies. Group D will join the fray on January 20, while Group C starts its journey on January 21.

Match Schedule
Match Schedule ICC

From January 30, the Super Six takes centre stage, followed by the nerve-wracking semi-finals on February 6. The final of the tournament will be played at Willowmoore Park in Benoni on February 11.