Lok Sabha Elections 2024: BJP to contest on more seats than JDU, Chirag gets 5 seats in Bihar

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Out of total 40 seats in Bihar, BJP will contest on 17 seats. Nitish Kumar's JDU will field candidates on 16 seats. Chirag Paswan's party has got 5 seats.

Follow us:
Courtesy: ANI

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: In the anticipation of upcoming Lok Sabha Elections 2024, the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in Bihar has finalized seat allocations. Out of Bihar's 40 seats, BJP will contest 17, while Nitish Kumar's JDU will field candidates on 16 seats. Chirag Paswan's party has secured 5 seats, and Jitan Ram Manjhi's 'HUM' party has been granted 1 seat. Moreover, Upendra Kushwaha's party will field a candidate in one seat. Notably, in the previous elections, NDA clinched 39 seats in Bihar.

The recent agreement between BJP and Chirag Paswan's Lok Janshakti Party (LJP-R) holds significance, with BJP offering 5 seats, including Hajipur, to Chirag Paswan's faction. This move sidelines Chirag's uncle and current Union Minister Pashupati Paras.

The BJP will contest elections on the following 17 seats in Bihar: Aurangabad, Madhubani, Aririya, Darbhanga, Muzaffarpur, Maharajganj, Saran, Ujiarpur, Begusarai, Nawada, Patna Sahib, Patliputra, Arrah, Buxar, and Sasaram.

Meanwhile, JDU will field candidates from Valmikinagar, Sitamarhi, Jhanjharpur, Supaul, Kishanganj, Katihar, Purnia, Madhepura, Gopalganj, Siwan, Bhagalpur, Bank, Munger, Nalanda, Jehanabad, and Shivhar.

With BJP contesting one more seat than JDU, it assumes a dominant position within the alliance, backed by a higher number of MLAs and ministers. In the 2019 elections, both parties contested an equal number of seats, while in 2014, they faced off directly without forming an alliance. In the 2009 elections, Janata Dal United fielded candidates on 25 seats, while BJP won on 15 seats.

The allocation of seats to Jitan Ram Manjhi and Upendra Kushwaha's parties comes after demands for ministerial posts and Lok Sabha seats. The pressure exerted by both leaders on the BJP prompted action to secure their alliance.