The Septa: Top contenders from West Bengal who'll lock horns in phase 7 of Lok Sabha Elections 2024

The elections in this phase include crucial constituencies like Kolkata, Dakshin, Jadavpur, and Bongaon.

Bhaskar Chakravorty
Follow us:
Courtesy: X/Canva

In the seventh phase of the Lok Sabha elections in 2024 in West Bengal, the political landscape is highly competitive, with the Trinamool Congress (TMC) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) as the main contenders. The elections in this phase include crucial constituencies like Kolkata, Dakshin, Jadavpur, and Bongaon. The TMC focuses on its strong local presence and development initiatives, while the BJP emphasizes transparency and governance reforms. This phase is significant in shaping the state's political future, reflecting broader national electoral trends.

Here are West Bengal’s Prominent Candidates in the Phase 7 Spotlight:

Mala Roy (TMC)

Contesting from Kolkata Dakshin, Mala Roy is the current MP and Chairperson of the Kolkata Municipal Corporation. She has a strong background in administration and local governance, playing a crucial role in urban development and civic issues in Kolkata. Her leadership in municipal affairs has earned her a reputable standing among her constituents.

Chandra Kumar Bose (BJP)

Contesting from Kolkata Dakshin, Chandra Kumar Bose is the grand-nephew of the iconic freedom fighter Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose. A senior BJP leader, he is known for his efforts to promote historical and cultural heritage. His campaign focuses on bringing transparency and development to his constituency, leveraging his illustrious family legacy.

Mimi Chakraborty (TMC)

Contesting from Jadavpur, Mimi Chakraborty is a popular actress who transitioned into politics. As the current MP, she has been active in addressing local issues, particularly those concerning women and youth. Her celebrity status and approachable demeanor have helped her build a strong rapport with her constituents.

Anupam Hazra (BJP)

Contesting from Jadavpur, Anupam Hazra is a former TMC MP who joined the BJP. With a background in academia, he brings a blend of educational insight and political experience. His campaign focuses on development and anti-corruption measures, aiming to leverage his knowledge and experience for the benefit of the constituency.

Shantanu Thakur (BJP)

Contesting from Bongaon, Shantanu Thakur is the current MP and a prominent leader of the Matua community, which has a significant voter base in the region. His work emphasizes community welfare and cultural preservation. As a representative of the Matua community, he has been instrumental in voicing their concerns at the national level.

Mamatabala Thakur (TMC)

Contesting from Bongaon, Mamatabala Thakur is a former MP and a key figure in the Matua community. Her tenure in parliament was marked by efforts to improve social welfare and community rights. Her campaign focuses on continuing the development work and addressing the unique needs of her community.

Abhishek Banerjee (TMC)

Contesting from Diamond Harbour, Abhishek Banerjee is the current MP and the nephew of West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee. He is a dynamic youth leader known for his energetic approach to politics. His initiatives often focus on youth empowerment, infrastructure development, and social welfare. His leadership within the TMC is marked by his commitment to progressive policies and inclusive development.