Who is Mohan Charan Majhi, Odisha's new Chief Minister from BJP

Manjhi is going to be the state's new chief minister.

Top Indian News Desk
Follow us:
Courtesy: X

Mohan Charan Majhi was chosen to lead the BJP Legislative Party in Odisha. He is going to be the state's new chief minister. He will take the oath of office at the swearing-in event on June 12, which Prime Minister Narendra Modi will also be attending. He is the saffron party's first nominee for the state's top position.

New Deputy CM is in power

Majhi, the BJP's first chief minister in Odisha, will have two deputies in addition: Prabhati Parida, a new MLA, and KV Singh Deo, a veteran lawmaker. With a strong tribal face, he was elected to the state legislative assembly from the ST-reserved Keonjhar seat.

Following discussions with the top leaders and the recently elected MPs and MLAs, his name was brought forward by Union ministers Rajnath Singh and Bhupendra Yadav, who were in attendance as observers at the BJP legislature party meeting. 

The swering in ceremony are in  order

Given that the party had previously made similar announcements in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Chhattisgarh, a number of party leaders had assumed the same. A top party leader declared, "Since the BJP is a worker-driven party, everything is possible in Odisha."

According to party insiders, Majhi would take his oath on Wednesday after paying a visit to Puri's Shree Jagannath Temple. On June 12, at 2:30 p.m., Modi is anticipated to land in Bhubaneswar and head from the airport to Raj Bhavan, they stated.

Strict security protocols have been implemented at the suggested location for the induction ceremony. The new chief minister of Odisha and other officials are set to take an oath of office in front of a number of dignitaries, including union ministers and chief ministers of states ruled by the Bharatiya Janata Party.

Who is Mohan Charan Majhi?

Indian politician Mohan Charan Majhi was chosen to lead the first BJP government in Odisha as the 15th chief minister. As a Bharatiya Janata Party member, he was chosen to represent Keonjhar (the Odisha Vidhan Sabha seat) in the 2019 Odisha Legislative Assembly election. In addition, he served as Keonjhar's representative three times between 2000 and 2009. He was declared the next Chief Minister of Odisha on June 11, 2024.