BJP ‘stole’ govt, ‘purchased’ Congress MLAs in Madhya Pradesh: Rahul Gandhi

Congress leader Rahul Gandhi on Tuesday claimed that there would be a storm of the Congress party in Madhya Pradesh and people of the state are going to give 145-150 seats to the party in the upcoming state assembly polls.

Follow us:
Courtesy: ANI

Senior Congress MP Rahul Gandhi on Tuesday criticised Prime Minister Narendra Modi and union home minister Amit Shah of "purchasing" his party's MLAs and “stealing” government in Madhya Pradesh. While speaking at the public gathering in Madhya Pradesh on Tuesday, he referred to the rebellion of 22 MLAs that led to the collapse of the Kamal Nath government in 2020. He claimed that the voice of the masses was "crushed" by the BJP.

While speaking, Rahul Gandhi also expressed confidence that Congress party will win around 150 seats in Madhya Pradesh in the upcoming Assembly elections which are scheduled to be held on November 17.

Rahul Gandhi made the remarks during addressal in Vidisha, around 55 km from the state capital. "A storm is going to come in favour of the Congress. The party will be winning 145 to 150 seats. Five years back, you (people) elected a Congress government but BJP leaders (Prime Minister) Narendra Modi, (MP Chief Minister) Shivraj Singh and (Union Home Minister) Amit Shah purchased the MLAs and stole your government," Gandhi said.

Rahul Gandhi further lashed out at BJP saying, "We fight the BJP. In Karnataka, we chased them away. In Himachal Pradesh, we chased them away - but not with hatred. We open 'Mohabbat ki Dukan' in 'Nafrat ka Bazaar'. We are soldiers of non-violence, we don't hit. But we chased them out with love. We told them that they don't have a place here; you looted Karnataka, run a '40% government' so go away. Congress party's government will come here."

He further added, “BJP is currently the ruling party in Madhya Pradesh, it is the most corrupt govt in the country. India is not a country of hatred, it is a country of love. As I said during the Bharat Jodo Yatra, 'Nafrat ke bazaar mein Mohabbat ki dukaan kholni hai'. Wherever Congress party has gone, it has done the work of uniting people...”

The state is set to undergo polls on November 17 and the counting of votes will take place on December 3. Voters will choose legislators from 230 Assembly constituencies.

Notably, the last state assembly polls in 2018 saw the Congress coming to power, with veteran leader Kamal Nath taking oath as the chief minister. Nonetheless, a political upheaval rocked the state in 2020 after then-Congressman Jyotiraditya Scindia, along with 22 loyalist MLAs, switched over to the saffron camp.

The Congress government fell after being reduced to a minority and the BJP formed the government, with Shivraj Singh Chouhan returning as chief minister.

(With inputs from ANI)