Lok Sabha Elections 2024: BJP announces candidates for Rajya Sabha polls

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: As of now, the BJP has not announced its candidates from Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, and Maharashtra.

Follow us:
Courtesy: ANI

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has unveiled its list of candidates for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections across the country. The party has nominated a total of fourteen candidates, including former Union minister R P N Singh and Sudhanshu Trivedi, both of whom have been renominated.

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Renominations and fresh faces

In a strategic move, the BJP has decided to replace Union minister Rajeev Chandrasekhar and BJP chief spokesperson Anil Baluni with fresh faces. Chandrasekhar, who currently represents Karnataka in the Upper House, and Baluni, an MP from Uttarakhand, will make way for new candidates.

Among the fresh faces are Narayana K Bhandage from Karnataka and Devendra Pratap Singh from Chhattisgarh. While not much is known about them, both Bhandage and Singh have been recognized for their dedicated service to the party over the years. Singh, set to replace Saroj Pandey, hails from the esteemed Gond royal family.

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Sushil Kumar Modi left out

Surprisingly, the name of BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi did not feature in the list. This omission may hint at the possibility of Modi being considered for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls. With six seats up for grabs in Bihar, the BJP and Opposition parties are expected to elect three candidates from the state this time. Additionally, JD (U), a recent addition to the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA), is likely to field one candidate. Dharmshila Gupta and Bhim Singh have been nominated by the BJP for the Rajya Sabha polls.

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Union ministers yet to be named

Notably, none of the Union Ministers whose terms are concluding have been fielded for the Rajya Sabha elections. This decision strongly suggests that many of them could be slated for the Lok Sabha polls instead.

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Candidates awaited from MP, Gujarat and Maharashtra

As of now, the BJP has not announced its candidates from Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, and Maharashtra. Among those retiring from these states include Union ministers Mansukh Mandaviya and Parshottam Rupala from Gujarat, Union ministers Dharmendra Pradhan and L Murugan from Madhya Pradesh, and Union minister Narayan Rane from Maharashtra.