Under 19 World Cup 2024: India's woes in finals continue as Australia clinches trophy

Under 19 World Cup 2024: The Aussie has defeated India in the ICC Under 19 World Cup 2024 finals to clinch their fourth title.

Follow us:
Courtesy: X/@ICC

Under 19 World Cup 2024: Australia has broken the winning streak of India at Willowmoore Park in Benoni. What a time to do that! The Aussie has defeated India in the ICC Under 19 World Cup 2024 finals to clinch their fourth title. In the pursuit of 254, India suffered multiple setbacks in the run chase on Sunday. Mahli Beardman and Raf MacMilllan destroyed India's batting line-up to secure 79 run victory. Australia bundled out 'Men in Blue' on 174 in 43.5 overs. 

India's dream of lifting the U19 World Cup trophy slipped through their fingers as they fell short by 79 runs against Australia in the final on Sunday. Chasing a mammoth 254, the Indian batting line-up crumbled under pressure, managing only 174 runs in 43.5 overs.

Australia set the tone early, opting to bat and posting the highest total ever recorded in a U19 World Cup final. Harry Dixon (42) and captain Hugh Weibgen (48) laid the foundation with a solid 78-run opening stand. After their dismissals, Harjas Singh (55) and Ryan Hicks (20) consolidated the gains with a crucial 66-run partnership. Oliver Peake's late flourish (46*) propelled Australia to a formidable 253/7.

Impeccable bowling performance from Autsralia

Chasing a daunting target, India's chase got off to a shaky start. Arshin Kulkarni and Musheer Khan fell cheaply, followed by captain Uday Saharan (18) who couldn't replicate his heroics from previous matches. Sachin Dhas, Priyanshu Moliya, and Aravelly Avanish also departed quickly, leaving India reeling at 91/6.

Adarsh Singh's battle goes in vain

Opener Adarsh Singh (47) fought valiantly, but the pressure proved too much as he succumbed to a short ball. The remaining batsmen offered little resistance, and India was bundled out for 174 in 43.5 overs. Mahli Beardman and Raf Macmillan shared six wickets each for Australia.

Earlier, India had shown glimpses of their bowling brilliance, with Naman Tiwari claiming two crucial wickets in quick succession. However, they were unable to sustain the pressure, allowing Australia to build partnerships and post a commanding total.

Despite the valiant effort, India ultimately fell short against a dominant Australian side. Mahli Beardman won the Player of the Match award for his impeccable bowling performance. He dismissed three Indian batters.

Brief Scorecard

Australia: 253/7 in 50 Overs (Harjas Singh 55, Hugh Weibgen 38 ; Raj Limbani 3/38)

India: 174/10 in 43.5 Overs (Adarsh Singh 47 Murugan Abhishek 42; Mahli Beardman 3/15)

Result: Australia won by 79 runs 

(This is a developing story)